Simi Valley High School  Logo
From the Principal's Desk School of Choice News About Our School Mission Statement and Schoolwide Learning Goals School Report Card Pioneer Tradition Required Forms & Updates for 2016-2017 'Aeries' Information Our Staff Bell Schedules and Attendance Student Agenda Book Health Office Disaster Preparedness Directions to the School Pioneer Alumni PTSA Staff Resources
Counseling Tutoring College & Career Center Career Pathways
Pathways: An Overview Biotechnology Education Engineering, Architecture, and Product Design Entrepreneurship & Marketing IT & Software Design Medical Health Careers & Patient Care Public Service Wood Technology & Construction
Faculty by Department Departments Medical & Health Careers Academy - MHC Testing Work Experience & ROP
Library Media Center Textbook Charges Student Resources Library Practice Students Mrs. Leighty's Book Recs Useful Links by Subject Librarian's Corner Teacher Resources
Fine Arts Calendar Music Theatre Arts Visual Arts
The Activities Office Clubs on Campus The Renaissance Program
Pioneer Athletics Schedules & Scores Baseball Basketball - Boys Basketball - Girls Cross Country - Boys & Girls Football Golf - Boys Golf - Girls Lacrosse - Boys Lacrosse - Girls Soccer - Boys Soccer - Girls Softball Tennis - Boys & Girls Track & Field Volleyball - Boys Volleyball - Girls Wrestling
The Pioneer Webstore Order Your Yearbook

STAFF...
Barbara Leighty
Library Media Technician III

Sue Williams
Library Media Technician II

HOURS...
7:30 A.M. to 4:15 P.M.

(Circulation Desk closes at 4:00 P.M.)

CHECKOUT POLICY...
Library Books -- Two weeks

eBooks - Two weeks                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Audio Books - Two weeks

Check Your Bookshelf with AR Home Connect

Access Follett eBooks - Instructions HERE! 

Renaissance Learning's Parent Page, with Parent Guides to view, download, or print, answering FAQ's about Renaissance products. 

Renaissance Learning - Accelerated Reader 

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs

The Prints aLibrary Of Congres logo.pngnd Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

 

Access the SVPL Catalog Here

simivalleylibrarylogo-smaller.jpg
 

Library Media Center

10 Ways to Spot a Fake News Article

                                                        

2016 was a year with a lot of big news stories - election upsets, Zika, the Syrian crisis, and unfortunately tons of fake news about all of the above and everything in between.

Denzel Washington was recently quoted as saying, “If you don’t read the newspaper, you’re uninformed. If you do read the newspaper, you’re misinformed.” So what should you do? You want to be informed, but a good deal of the information out there is incorrect or biased. Click on the image above for some things to keep an eye out for when reading a news article.

Check Out These Highlights from AASL Best Websites for 2016

Biteable - Make animations completely online in minutes.


Bunkr - The presentation tool that displays any online content.

Bunkr.png
movenote.jpg

 

Movenote - A Quick and easy way to bring your

presentations to life.  Recording your presentations

is easy and quick and everything is sharable

online by email or social media with a simple link. 


  

Check Your Patron Record!

Check your student library patron record regularly.

  1. See what books are on loan and what books are overdue.
  2. See if you have any fines.
  3. Lost a book? Pull up your student record and see if the book has ...more

Check out our Library Page and LIKE us

on Facebook for all the latest news!

March Pioneer Book Club


The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story,

perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.

 

Pick up your copy in the library today!.

 

Come to the March 7th meeting of the

Pioneer Book club to discuss this book.  

TAKE THE LIBRARY SURVEY

Poetry Foundation

Poetry Foundation.jpg
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.

The First Year | College Readiness

undefined

College librarians, and others who work closely with college freshmen, understand that  their high school colleagues are already pressed to do much with little. Yet that doesn’t  mean they don’t have a wish list of what first-year students should come armed with in  terms of scholarly skills.

HOW MANY BOOKS CAN YOU READ IN 2017?


 

I want to read 

    books in 2017.       Take the Challenge